Demi Moore nabs prestigious role as Godmother of the Trophée Chopard awarded at Cannes Film Festival

By Linnéa Pesonen

Photo: Getty

Continuing the legacy of other A-listers like Julia Roberts and Natalie Portman, Demi Moore has just been named the Godmother of the Trophée Chopard, an accolade honouring emerging acting talent

Every year at the Cannes Film Festival, the Trophée Chopard prize is awarded to up-and-coming actors exhibiting budding excellence. The accolade is presented by the ceremony’s Godfather or Godmother, with this year’s honour bestowed upon Demi Moore. The actor, producer, and author has been named the Godmother of the 2024 Trophée Chopard, which will be handed out at the award ceremony on May 17th at Carlton Beach during an official festival dinner.


Following in the footsteps of previous Godmothers, including Natalie Portman, Julia Roberts, Charlize Theron, and Cate Blanchett, Moore is a natural fit for the part, given her illustrious career (she broke the record in 1995 as the highest-paid actress in Hollywood) and recent accomplishments such as the soaring success of her candid memoir Inside Out and her starring role in the blockbuster series Capote vs. The Swans. Moore is also a dedicated philanthropist, having founded her own non-profit organisation, Thorn, which develops technology aimed at protecting children from sexual abuse, exploitation, and trafficking.

Demi Moore will present the 2024 Trophée Chopard on May 17 during the 2024 Cannes Film Festival. Photo: Getty

“I am very excited to welcome Demi Moore as our Trophée Chopard’s Godmother. She is perfect for this role, as she embodies what rising talents can strive for, with a constant reinvention through daring role choices she fearlessly embraced,” says Caroline Scheufele, co-president and artistic director of Chopard. “Her long and diverse career epitomises the Hollywood success story and I am sure that the laureates of the 24th Trophée Chopard will receive invaluable advice from their Godmother.”

Conceived by Scheufele, the Trophée Chopard has supported and nurtured emerging talent since 2001. Presented to two actors each year, the winners are chosen by the Académie du Trophée Chopard, comprising past laureates, Godmothers, and Godfathers of the Trophée. Previous winners include Naomi Ackie, Marion Cotillard, Léa Seydoux, Florence Pugh, and Jessie Buckley, who have all gone on to achieve remarkable success.